Skip to main content

Assemblymember Zbur Holds District 51 Climate and Environmental Advisory Committee Meeting

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO, CA — Assembly Democratic Caucus Chair Rick Chavez Zbur (D-Hollywood) has held the first meeting of the Assembly District 51 (AD51) Climate Action Advisory Committee. The purpose of the committee is to provide input and recommendations to the Assemblymember on climate change and environmental issues relative to the California Legislature and the state budget.

"Meeting the climate crisis requires bold action and we must be vigilant in protecting our sensitive coastal and hillside habitats and fighting for clean air and water, livable communities, and environmental justice," said Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur. "I am grateful to the members for their invaluable advice and expertise to ensure that we make the best policy decisions for our state and world. We must continue working together in order to protect our planet for future generations."

Members of the AD51 Climate and Environmental Advisory Committee

Hon. Lauren Meister, Councilmember, City of West Hollywood, Co-Chair
Wendy-Sue Rosen, Sierra Club, Co-Chair
Hon. Abbe Land, Former Councilmember, City of West Hollywood
Don Andres, Friends of Runyon Canyon
Steve Dunwoody, Climate Nexus
Eric Edmunds, Sierra Club Santa Monica Mountains Task Force
Shona Ganguly, Los Angeles League of Conservation Voters
Naomi Goldman, NLG Communications
Joshua Lewis Goldstein, University of Southern California
Jamie Hall, The Hillside Federation
Rick Halsey, California Chaparral Institute
Gerry Hans, Friends of Griffith Park
Marcia Hanscom, Sierra Club
Lisa Hart, Neighborhood Council Sustainability Alliance
Rosalind Helfand, California Global Diversity Working Group
Dean Kubani, City of Santa Monica
Joe Lyou, Coalition for Clean Air
Meredith McCarthy, Heal the Bay
Chris Mckee, Ragcha Media
Annette Mercer, Westwood Greenway
Charles Miller, LA County Metro Sustainability Council
Stephanie Molen, Los Angeles Metro
David Pettit, Santa Monica Sustainability, Environmental Justice, and the Environment Commission
Michael Schneider, Streets for All
John Cyrus Smith, Santa Monica Recreation and Parks Commission
Isabel Storey, Sierra Club
Julie Stromberg, Los Angeles Central Area Planning Commission
Tony Tucci, Citizens for Los Angeles Wildlife
Melanie Winter, The River Project
Jane Wishon, Westside Neighborhood Council
Mike Young, California Environmental Voters

Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur serves as the Democratic Caucus Chair for the California State Assembly and represents the 51st Assembly District, which includes Universal City, Hollywood, Hancock Park, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Westwood, West Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and other portions of Los Angeles.

CONTACT: Vienna Montague, (916) 319-2051,