Skip to main content

Assembly Select Committee on Retail Theft

Californians Against Retail Theft

California State Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas has announced the formation of a new Select Committee on Retail Theft, naming me as Committee Chair. The Select Committee is comprised of bipartisan members from across the state, including from areas most impacted by retail theft. The committee will provide a forum to engage impacted stakeholders – including large retailers, small businesses, criminal justice reform advocates, law enforcement, and representatives of workers and the public – to identify policy solutions to this ongoing crisis.

Committee Members:

Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur

Rick Chavez Zbur
Committee Chair

Assemblymember Juan Alanis

Juan Alanis
(R-Merced & Stanislaus)

Assemblymember David Alvarez

David Alvarez
(D-San Diego)

Assemblymember Mia Bonta

Mia Bonta
(D-Alameda & San Francisco)

Assemblymember Vince Fong

Vince Fong
(R-Kern & Tulare)

Assemblymember Matt Haney

Matt Haney
(D-San Francisco)

Assemblymember Kevin McCarty

Kevin McCarty

Assemblymember Liz Ortega

Liz Ortega

Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco

Blanca Pacheco
(D-Los Angeles & Orange)

Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris

Cottie Petrie-Norris

Assemblymember Pilar Schiavo

Pilar Schiavo
(D-Los Angeles)



Media Advisory:

Press Releases:


Assembly Introduces Comprehensive, Bipartisan Legislative Package on Retail Crime and Theft

State Assembly Committee to Focus on Retail Theft Solutions

Zbur Discusses How Lawmakers Plan To Address Organized Retail Theft in California

Zbur Discusses the Importance of Tackling Retail Theft in California