Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez’ Bills to Rein-in DTSC and Heavy Industrial Polluters Pass First Committee

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

SACRAMENTO — Two bills aimed at reining in California's Department of Toxic Substances Control and industrial polluters such as Exide authored by Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez (D-Los Angeles) passed the Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials.

Assembylmember Gomez's AB 245 strengthens hazardous waste facilities financial assurance requirements to ensure there are adequate resources set aside to clean up contamination caused by their facility. The bill also requires DTSC to hold public hearings in the impacted community upon receiving a hazardous waste facility permit renewal application. Assembly Bill 249 increases the maximum penalties that DTSC can assess to match the maximum federal penalties for similar violations.

"The Legislature needs to ensure that every Californian – no matter where they live – has a voice in protecting against potential polluters by quickly acting upon AB 245," said Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez. "With uncertain times in Washington, D.C., California must pass AB 249 and uphold its commitment to all communities by making sure polluters receive a just penalty when prosecuted by any agency. These two measures will help us avoid another toxic disaster like we experienced with Exide."

AB 245 passed by a vote of 6 to 1 with bipartisan support and AB 249 passed with unanimous support. Both bills move from the Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee on to the Assembly Appropriations Committee and are a part of a broader package of bills by California Assembly Democrats aimed at reforming DTSC in the wake of repeated regulatory failures at the Exide plant in Los Angeles. 

Visit Assemblymember Gomez website:


Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez represents the 51st Assembly District which includes the Northeast Los Angeles neighborhoods of Echo Park, Historic Filipinotown, Chinatown, Glassell Park, Montecito Heights, Monterey Hills, El Sereno, Highland Park, Mt. Washington, Lincoln Heights, City Terrace, Elysian Valley, Cypress Park, Eagle Rock, portion of Silver Lake, and unincorporated East Los Angeles.